Fashion

NOTE: If you know of a great resource and it's not listed, please e-mail Nico Nagel with the suggestion. 

CLOTHING

 

Recollections: http://recollections.biz/

Historical Emporium: www.historicalemporium.com - great men's clothing

Victorian Choice: https://www.victorianchoice.com

Red Threaded: www.redthreaded.com - best corsets made in Colorado.

Antique Dresses: www.antiquedress.com

Antique Dresses: http://www.antique-fashion.com/

Antique Dresses: http://www.antique-gown.com/en/

Ebay: http://www.ebay.com - Search “Victorian Clothing” or “Civil War” or “Victorian Jewelry”, “Gloves” etc. (Google historic photos of similar items to make sure they have correctly labeled items as Victorian)

Frock of Ages: http://frocksofages.com - custom dressmaker.

Jan Doel: seamstress in Central City, who posts her creations for sale at oldwestclothing@sfly.com  (Shutterfly usually has you request to “join” which costs nothing and they do not abuse your e-mail address). 

Disguises: 303-462-0401 address: 9797 W. Colfax Ave, Lakewood, Co 80215 - costume rental place if you want to just give one of our events a try. They also sell costumes, as well as wigs, masks and accessories. 

 

Do not forget to use THRIFT STORES and even antique stores. They can have a better price than it would cost to make something yourself (some antique stores carry things on consignment and reproductions now also). They are especially great for tuxes,  jewelry, furs, hats, shoes, gloves, formal and wedding dresses that can be dyed or torn apart and remade, or layered and used as-is.

ARC: https://www.arcthrift.com

UNIQUE THRIFT STORES: https://www.savers.com/unique  

BRASS ARMADILLO Antique Mall: http://www.brassarmadillo.com

Facebook Marketplace: only on your phone app. but you can search for curtains for fabric, antiques, anything under the sun, and it's all local. 

Costumes4Less: http://www.costumes4less.com  Often look very Halloween costume but can work in a pinch and be spruced up by adding your own details or using as a foundation that you put other things over (They have a changing list of categories, sometimes they have, for example a Victorian swim suit, some times nothing Victorian).

Masonville Mercantile: http://forgottenfortcollins.com/masonville-mercantile/ great men’s hats, vests, women’s clothing, as well as accessories. 

 

ACCESSORIES

 

Victorian Trading Company: www.victoriantradingco.com - jewelry, parasols, etc. 

Hats:  www.eastangelharbor.com

Hats: http://denisenadinedesign.com

Victorian Jewelry: www.victorianelegancejewelry.com

Make your own jewelry:  www.vintagejewelrysupplies.com

Ornamental Beads: http://ornabead.com - make custom hatpins, “cameos”. Order on-line or better yet, go into their store in Wheat Ridge, Colorado.

Parasols: https://www.facebook.com/VictorianParasols - lady recovers parasols that you can buy on eBay.

Penny River Costumes: www.pennyriver.etsy.com - custom order embroidered stockings (wool, cotton or silk).

 

SEWING

Corset-making supplies: http://corsetmaking.com

Farthingales Corset Making Supplies: https://www.farthingalescorsetmakingsupplies.com

Truly Victorian for historically accurate Victorian patterns: https://www.trulyvictorian.net/

Wearing History for historically accurate patterns: http://wearinghistory.clothing/

Patterns of Time: https://www.patternsoftime.com/

The Recollections of J.P. Ryan for historically accurate patterns: https://www.jpryan.com/​

Vintage Patterns: https://vintagepatterns.fandom.com/wiki/Main_Page

Free Antique Sewing Patterns: http://mymodernmet.com/free-historical-costume-patterns/

Biking Outfit Pattern: http://bikesandbloomers.com/patterns/

Eva Dress for vintage sewing patterns: https://www.evadress.com

Sewing CLASS for a Victorian Ballgown: https://classes.historicalsewing.com/courses - I've never sewn anything before in my life and I was able to sew a day dress gown from start to finish with this class. 

Machine embroidering patterns and lessons: http://romanticrecollections.com/

About hand made lace: http://www.lynxlace.com

Royal Fashion Classes: https://www.futurelearn.com/courses/royal-fashion#section-overview

Fabrics: https://www.fashionfabricsclub.com - purchased on line and shipped to you.

Fabrics: www.coloradofabrics.com - amazing fabrics and they have a bargain section even for silk

Amazon & Ebay: https://www.amazon.com or http://www.ebay.com - when you get to these sites do a search “Vintage Lace” or “Vintage Buttons” or “Feathers”,  etc. (Again we recommend you do an internet search of historic photos of similar items to make sure they have correctly labeled items as Victorian).

MISCELLANEOUS  

Guli Productions: www.guliproductions.com - sign up for her newsletter. She organizes lots of balls and events and her dance instructions are the best in the country

Become a Victorian Lady! - https://www.airbnb.com/experiences/220679

Shoes: www.americanduchess.com - amazing period shoes copied after extant pieces

Shoes: www.Sassyfeet.com - custom paint your own shoes (or Thrift Store shoes)

Millinery, Corset and Other Supplies: Richard the Thread: www.richardthethread.com

Custom Hats: Rita Smith - https://www.facebook.com/rita.smith.777363 - incredible custom-made hats

Hair Supplies: www.BNGhair.com - for strands of fake hair that you can make into braids and buns to clip into your own hair 

Feathers: https://www.shinetrim.com/product-category/feathers/?view=all

Beads: https://www.firemountaingems.com/itemdetails/h20a2940sb?page=2&green=6C38B065-AB7C-5332-A697-2C0CA87EC5F4

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com - for countless images of period dresses and accessories. 

Auction House with antique garments: http://kerrytaylorauctions.com/archive-list/?id=68&sts=archive&paging=2

FACEBOOK GROUPS:

 

If a link doesn't work, please bring it to Nico Nagel's attention, and in the alternative, copy and paste the name of the group onto FB's search window. The names are identical to what they are called on FB.  These groups have been a tremendous resource in learning about the history of the period. 

Raising Hair: https://www.facebook.com/groups/773426722812813

The Gilded Age Society: https://www.facebook.com/groups/thegildedagesociety

Historic Dance Events, Balls, Workshops: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1617722748538719

Historical Costuming Fabric/Trims/Patterns Buy/Sell: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1499130173689696

Historical Costumes Buy/Sell/Trade/Order: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1600870416898742

Costume College Year-Round Forum: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1083578265047421

DVSS - Denver Victorian & Steampunk Society: https://www.facebook.com/groups/victoriansteam

Historic Cosmetics: https://www.facebook.com/groups/307179099337038

Historical Pattern Reviews 1700-1930: https://www.facebook.com/groups/370047653021278

Late Victorian Costuming Support 1870-1900: https://www.facebook.com/groups/801296460001244

Period Costuming Support Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/PeriodCostuming

Sewing - Victorian clothing & costumes: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1302276313132385

Milliners: https://www.facebook.com/groups/139374516123311

Embroidery: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1930555860556295/

The Mad Hatters Society: https://www.facebook.com/groups/22825326

Historical Hats,& Millinery supplies buy and sell: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1126878954020031

My Antiques Identified: https://www.facebook.com/groups/928523723966492

Victorian History (1837 - 1901): https://www.facebook.com/groups/victorianhistory

Victorian images: https://www.facebook.com/groups/200504905212

The Tightlacing Society: https://www.facebook.com/groups/TightlacingSociety

"The World of Royalty": https://www.facebook.com/groups/1219719274817745

19th century sewing: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1773731902880238/

Historically Accurate 18th and early 19th Sewing: https://www.facebook.com/groups/164225137250132/

18th Century Sewing: https://www.facebook.com/groups/18thcenturysewing

18th c sewing: https://www.facebook.com/groups/618389418346204

18th century clothing: https://www.facebook.com/groups/101917256564924

18th Century Fashionable Dress Construction: https://www.facebook.com/groups/18c.sewalong/

18th Century Sewing - Buy and Sell: https://www.facebook.com/groups/18thcsewingbuyandsell

1900-1925 Edwardian-WWI Era Fashion & Costuming: https://www.facebook.com/groups/216451388557919

BLOGS/WEBSITES

Victorian Times: http://invictoriantimes.blogspot.com/?m=1

Beauty from Asheshttps://beauty4ashes7.blogspot.com/ - incredible tutorials

The Perfect Touch: http://theperfecttouchvictorian.blogspot.com

Sewstine: https://sewstine.com/ - amazing talent and tips for making 18th century dresses
Virtuous Courtesan: www.VirtuousCourtesan.com - makes all her dresses by hand

The Historical Sew Monthly: http://thedreamstress.com/the-historical-sew-monthly-2018/

BOOKS

Clothing for women: https://archive.org/details/clothingforwomen00baldrich

Jacobean Embroidery: https://archive.org/stream/jacobeanembroide00fitzrich#page/n0

MOVIES

Hysteria - Amazon Prime

The President's Mistress - Amazon Prime - it's in French, and a true story 

INFO FOR OTHER STATES/COUNTRIES:

Victorian Alliance of San Francisco: https://www.victorianalliance.org/

West Coast Ragtime Society: http://www.westcoastragtime.com/festivals.htm

Demorest's Family Magazine, Volumes 11-12: https://books.google.com/books?id=SxQ7AQAAMAAJ&pg=PA67&lpg=PA67&dq=1874+demorests&source=bl&ots=qt3QRuscOM&sig=RzIM_0fakj_Ebe859ZAjlzAR-6I&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiZvJLWyf_bAhVuplkKHb7XCbo4ChDoAQgqMAE#v=onepage&q=1874%20demorests&f=false

Prior Attire - UKhttps://www.priorattire.co.uk/page_3249963.html

Early Dance Groups: https://earlydance.org/dance-groups