Fashion

NOTE: If you know of a great resource and it's not listed, please e-mail Nico Gustafson with the suggestion.

CLOTHING

Recollections: recollections.biz

Historical Emporium: historicalemporium.com - great men's clothing

Darcy Clothing: https://www.darcyclothing.com/collections/mens-shirts - amazing men's outfits

Victorian Choice: victorianchoice.com

Red Threaded redthreaded.com - best corsets made in Colorado.

Antique Dresses: antiquedress.com

Antique Dresses: antique-gown.com/en

Ebay: ebay.com - Search “Victorian Clothing” or “Civil War” or “Victorian Jewelry”, “Gloves” etc. (Google historic photos of similar items to make sure they have correctly labeled items as Victorian)

Disguises: 303-462-0401 address: 9797 W. Colfax Ave, Lakewood, Co 80215 - costume rental place if you want to just give one of our events a try. They also sell costumes, as well as wigs, masks and accessories.

Do not forget to use THRIFT STORES and even antique stores. They can have a better price than it would cost to make something yourself (some antique stores carry things on consignment and reproductions now also). They are especially great for tuxes, jewelry, furs, hats, shoes, gloves, formal and wedding dresses that can be dyed or torn apart and remade, or layered and used as-is.

ARC: arcthrift.com

UNIQUE THRIFT STORES: savers.com/unique

BRASS ARMADILLO Antique Mall:brassarmadillo.com

Facebook Marketplace: only on your phone app. but you can search for curtains for fabric, antiques, anything under the sun, and it's all local.

Costumes4Less: costumes4less.com Often look very Halloween costume but can work in a pinch and be spruced up by adding your own details or using as a foundation that you put other things over (They have a changing list of categories, sometimes they have, for example a Victorian swim suit, some times nothing Victorian).

Masonville Mercantile: masonvillemerc.com great men’s hats, vests, women’s clothing, as well as accessories.

ACCESSORIES

Victorian Trading Company: giftsanddec.com/company/victorian-trading-company - jewelry, parasols, etc.

Hats: eastangelharbor.com

Hats: denisenadinedesign.com

Victorian Jewelry: victorianelegancejewelry.com

Make your own jewelry: vintagejewelrysupplies.com

Ornamental Beads: ornabead.com - make custom hatpins, “cameos”. Order on-line or better yet, go into their store in Wheat Ridge, Colorado.

Penny River Costumes: pennyriver.etsy.com - custom order embroidered stockings (wool, cotton or silk).

SEWING

Patters: lulus.com sewing-patterns-and-guides-for-historical-clothing-and-costumes

Corset-making supplies: corsetmaking.com

Farthingales Corset Making Supplies: farthingalescorsetmakingsupplies.com

Truly Victorian for historically accurate Victorian patterns: trulyvictorian.net

Wearing History for historically accurate patterns: wearinghistory.clothing

Patterns of Time: patternsoftime.com

The Recollections of J.P. Ryan for historically accurate patterns: jpryan.com​

Vintage Patterns: vintagepatterns.fandom.com/wiki/Main_Page

Free Antique Sewing Patterns: mymodernmet.com/free-historical-costume-patterns

Biking Outfit Pattern: bikesandbloomers.com/patterns

Eva Dress for vintage sewing patterns: evadress.com

Sewing CLASS for a Victorian Ballgown: classes.historicalsewing.com/courses - I've never sewn anything before in my life and I was able to sew a day dress gown from start to finish with this class.

Machine embroidering patterns and lessons: romanticrecollections.com

Royal Fashion Classes: futurelearn.com

Fabrics: fashionfabricsclub.com - purchased on line and shipped to you.

amazon.com or ebay.com - when you get to these sites do a search “Vintage Lace” or “Vintage Buttons” or “Feathers”, etc. (Again we recommend you do an internet search of historic photos of similar items to make sure they have correctly labeled items as Victorian).

MISCELLANEOUS

Guli Productions guliproductions.com - sign up for her newsletter. She organizes lots of balls and events and her dance instructions are the best in the country

Become a Victorian Lady Airbnb Experience - airbnb.com/experiences/220679

Shoes: americanduchess.com - amazing period shoes copied after extant pieces

Millinery, Corset and Other Supplies: Richard the Thread: richardthethread.com

Hair Supplies: BNGhair.com - for strands of fake hair that you can make into braids and buns to clip into your own hair.

Feathers: shinetrim.com/product-category/feathers/?view=all

Beads: firemountaingems.comitemdetails/h20a2940sb

Pinterest: pinterest.com - for countless images of period dresses and accessories.

Auction House with antique garments: kerrytaylorauctions.com

Also see Ornamental beads above.

FACEBOOK GROUPS:

If a link doesn't work, please bring it to our webmaster attention, and in the alternative, copy and paste the name of the group onto FB's search window. The names are identical to what they are called on FB. These groups have been a tremendous resource in learning about the history of the period.

Historical Costuming Fabric/Trims/Patterns Buy/Sell: facebook.com/groups/1499130173689696

Historical Costumes Buy/Sell/Trade/Order: facebook.com/groups/1600870416898742

Raising Hair: facebook.com/groups/773426722812813

The Gilded Age Society: facebook.com/groups/thegildedagesociety

Historic Dance Events, Balls, Workshops: facebook.com/groups/1617722748538719

Costume College Year-Round Forum: facebook.com/groups/1083578265047421

DVSS - Denver Victorian & Steampunk Society: facebook.com/groups/victoriansteam

Historic Cosmetics: facebook.com/groups/307179099337038

Historical Pattern Reviews 1700-1930: facebook.com/groups/370047653021278

Late Victorian Costuming Support 1870-1900: facebook.com/groups/801296460001244

Period Costuming Support Group: facebook.com/groups/PeriodCostuming

Sewing - Victorian clothing & costumes: facebook.com/groups/1302276313132385

Milliners: facebook.com/groups/139374516123311

Embroidery: facebook.com/groups/1930555860556295

Historical Hats,& Millinery supplies buy and sell: facebook.com/groups/1126878954020031

My Antiques Identified: facebook.com/groups/928523723966492

Victorian History (1837 - 1901): facebook.com/groups/victorianhistory

Victorian images: facebook.com/groups/200504905212

The Tightlacing Society: facebook.com/groups/TightlacingSociety

"The World of Royalty": facebook.com/groups/1219719274817745

19th century sewing: facebook.com/groups/1773731902880238

BLOGS/WEBSITES

The Victorian Romanian: instagram.com/thevictorianromanian

Victorian Times: invictoriantimes.blogspot.com/?m=1

Beauty from Ashes: beauty4ashes7.blogspot.com - incredible tutorials

The Perfect Touch: theperfecttouchvictorian       
Virtuous Courtesan: VirtuousCourtesan.com - makes all her dresses by hand

The Historical Sew Monthly thedreamstress.com/the-historical-sew-monthly-2018

BOOKS

Clothing for women: archive.org/details/clothingforwomen00baldrich

Jacobean Embroidery: archive.org/stream/jacobeanembroide00fitzrich#page/n0

MOVIES

​Pride and Prejudice - any version

Somewhere in Time

Hysteria - Amazon Prime

The President's Mistress - Amazon Prime - it's in French, and a true story 

INFO FOR OTHER STATES/COUNTRIES:

Victorian Alliance of San Francisco: victorianalliance.org

Demorest's Family Magazine, Volumes 11-12: books.google.com/books?id=SxQ7AQAAMAAJ

Prior Attire - UK: priorattire.co.uk

Early Dance Groups: earlydance.org/dance-groups

Our Next Events